Dinner Time · Uncategorized

Dinner Time

Hello All!

In my last post, I shared my meal planning and grocery list process. So I thought I would share one dinner that I put in this week’s meal plan.

This isn’t a new recipe in any way, shape, or form. However, it is super yummy, and has been in my meal rotation regularly. My family loves it!

It’s Chicken Casserole!

There are so many different versions of Chicken Casserole. This is my take on this super easy, super delicious dinner!

20170110_155155

Here is what you will need:

  • Chicken (I have used chicken breast, leg quarters, fryer breasts, etc. As long as its chicken, and you debone it, it will be good).
  • Rice
  • Butter
  • Cream of Chicken
  • Sour Cream
  • Ritz crackers (or your preference)

I’ll be honest. The only thing I measure in this recipe is the rice LOL!

This recipe is pretty much based on what your taste preference is.

First things first…. cook the chicken. 20170110_155044.jpg

I had some frozen chicken breasts from Winn-Dixie. I cooked them, and when they finished I let them cool, then shredded it and left it in the pan with some butter.

Next I cooked the rice.

As previously stated, this is your preference. I cooked 4 servings, and it was perfect proportion for our little family.

As the rice cooked, I took two cans of Cream of Chicken and put it in a bowl, along with sour cream. No measurement. Put as much cream of chicken and sour cream in until you like the taste. I added salt and pepper. When the rice finished I added the rice and chicken and mixed it all up.

Once that was combined, I poured it into a baking dish and preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

20170110_163751

As I waited for that to heat up, I took some butter -about half a stick), and melted it, then crushed up crackers and mixed it into the bowl with the melted butter. This helps it crisp up as it cooks so it adds some texture to the dish. Sprinkle it on top and throw it into the oven for 20 minutes (more or less depending on the size dish you are making).

20170110_164220
Sorry for the lousy quality. I was rushing, because my 3 month old was fussing, and didn’t realize the blur until I went to post it. 

Then you just dig in!

Thanks for reading, and don’t forget to share! 🙂

Leave a Reply

