Uncategorized

Who Are You?

When the night ends, I find myself trying to find myself…

It sounds silly, but it’s the truth. I am a wife. Yes. I am a mother. Yes. And those are two titles I wouldn’t trade for the world, no matter how frazzled I feel at the end of some days. However, now that I have finished my degree (I’ve been staying at home with my daughter, while finishing school), I can focus on just being a stay-at-home mom and wife, I am trying to find myself outside of those two titles.

Who is Rebekah?

I’m starting this blog, because, surely, I am not the only mother who feels average. Surely I’m not the only one who watches these other mother’s on YouTube or see’s their Blogs or Pinterest pages and think “Wow! They really have it all together and know who they are”, while I’m still floundering on figuring out my “niche”.

I keep a clean house, but every nook and cranny isn’t organized. My house is decorated, but it would never be considered “Pinterest Worthy”, because all of my picture frames don’t match, and most of my decor is second-hand (not that this is a bad thing, of course). I’m terrible in front of a camera. My makeup is okay. I can cook pretty well, but I’m no chef. I’m definitely not a fitness guru. I don’t come up with creative activities for my daughter. I’m attempting to learn how to sew, but with a two year old, you have to be pretty strategic on practicing, otherwise you spend most of your time saying variations of “don’t touch that”, “leave that alone” or “no no”, instead of actually sewing.

In short… I’m the humdrum housewife. I’m the minimalist woman who doesn’t mind second hand items, who shops cheap, and doesn’t always look town chic. Many nights I go to bed with toys still on my living room floor, and vegetables drying on my counter. I wake up with a to-do list that I rarely finish, and a planner that I sometimes forget to look at, even though I filled it out at the beginning of the week.

So what is this blog really about? It’s about recognizing who and what I am and accepting that while searching for my niche. And hopefully, it will encourage you as well. I see so many YouTube channels and blogs where I get these perfect glimpses into their life. That is great! Good for them! I love watching and reading them and will continue to do so. But sometimes I just want to see something that feels closer to my level… Sometime simple and reserved, something nitty gritty, something… real.

My life is as real as it gets. We are a single income, middle class family who lives paycheck to paycheck. My husband and I have good days and bad days. Me and my daughter have good days and bad days. My noodles stick together when I cook them no matter what I do. My hair is usually in a ponytail. I have no special skills, talents, etc. I’m flawed and my home is lived in (I mean REALLY lived in lol). But I love my life, even though sometimes it may feel monotonous. I love my life and I love my growing family.

In other words, feel free to follow my blog if you want to see the everyday housewife who is trying to get it all together. Who is being the best mom, wife, sister, daughter, citizen to the best of her ability. Maybe together we can inspire and encourage each other in finding our best average self. 🙂

For my graduation party, they had a notebook for everyone to sign and write well wishes in. My sister printed out a couple of quotes and decorated the front, inside cover of it. One of them stuck out more than the others, and I would like to end with it.

“Maybe the journey isn’t so much about becoming anything. Maybe its about unbecoming everything that isn’t really you, so you can be who you were meant to be in the first place.”

One thought on “Who Are You?

  1. Love this, but I do want to make a correction here. You said “I have no special skills, talents, ect.” I will say that everyone has some kind of special talenst and gifts. I could list several of yours, but I won’t, because I want you to realize them and what they are by yourself. You are fearfully and wonderfully made and God has bestowed you talents and riches inside of your heart and mind that are all your own. You just have to realize them, discover them, and let them bloom and blossom. Some gifts and talents take time to grow…embrace what those are and let them come to life. As always, you are beautiful inside and out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

